Glutathione patch – Yes, it does work!

In my last post I promised that I would knuckle down and really give the Glutathione patches a fair go. So I began my renewed efforts yesterday. I got out of bed early enough to feel it worthwhile using a patch and I drank a couple of glasses of water. I decided to try a new position for the patch, so I put it on the sternum, in the center of the chest. I usually always wear it on acupuncture point CV6 which is about 2 inches below the navel.

It was an unusually busy day for me. I did lots. I visited a friend for a couple of hours with my mother, and then we drove to a new shopping centre, where I had been told there was a great butcher that does free range and gluten free sausages. We spent a good couple of hours doing the grocery shopping. When we got home in the late afternoon, I didn’t stop for a rest. Instead I jumped straight onto the computer again for at least a couple of hours, probably more. I still felt great. Then I helped with dinner, and after dinner, sprawled out on the couch in front of the TV around 9.30pm I still felt OK, rather than that sleepy slump you get after the evening meal. I still felt reasonably perky.

The biggest difference I could notice was that my energy levels were definitely higher, although I wasn’t hyperactive at all. My stamina was better, I didn’t tire as quickly, and that is a big deal. And finally, my energy levels were much more even throughout the day, rather than fluctuating up and down constantly.

So there you are, my first day back on the patches was pretty damn good.

Health & Happiness,

Svea

11 thoughts on “Glutathione patch – Yes, it does work!

  1. maureen says:

    Hi Svea,
    My son has cfs pretty badly and is interested in trying the patches. Thank you for sharing your information-we live in Adelaide and are wondering about who your doctor is as we haven’t had much luck finding a doctor that knows much about cfs
    Much appreciated

    • freesvea says:

      Maureen, glad to hear from you. I’d love to help any way I can. It’s nearly impossible getting well if you have a chronic illness as no-one seems to know anything worthwhile. At least the doctors don’t. The doctor that knows a lot about the patches is retired, but my GP is amazing. I’m not sure if she is taking on new patients. She’s very booked out. But she recently relocated so things might be different now, I haven’t asked her. I should though. Maybe if you could tell me a bit about your son’s situation I can give you some more info and other local contacts. How old is he? What are his symptoms and how long has he been unwell? What have you tried and what has been the advice given to you so far from health professionals?

      If you email me at svea79@yahoo.com.au I can give you my doctors details so you can give her a call.

      The patches are a great way to give yourself a boost, and there are different patches for different things, so you’ll need to talk to me more about what your son’s particular situation is like.

      Look forward to hearing from you Maureen,

      Svea

  2. Juliuan says:

    Hi Svea,
    Thanks for your post on the glutathione patches. I’ve heard mixed reviews about them, so i wasn’t sure. Your conclusion that they work was based on just your one day’s observation, and i was wondering if your opinions are still the same. As CFS Sufferers, we all know how one day you could be feeling great and making big plans for your future, and the next you’re right down again, so i wanted to find out if you’d been able to replicate this day of feeling great while wearing the lifewave patches. Thanx Svea

    • freesvea says:

      Hi Juliuan,

      In fact I have not. I found that I just couldn’t consistently drink enough water to really know I was doing the patches justice. So I stopped using them. But I also did get better,a nd it’s quite a while ago now so I’m not sure what actually helped the most. Regardless of what helped, it hasn’t helped again.

      I recovered enough to go overseas, but relapsed while over there. When I got back home I went back on all the treatments I was on before leaving, but a year on and I’m still not really any better than when I first got back home. So I’m having to try different things again.

      How are you now? Have you improved? If so, what has helped you?

      Svea

  3. rami says:

    Lifewave patches are amazing products,and i say it from my personal experiance

  4. Dream says:

    Whey Protein powder (I believe contains NAC, precursor to glutathione) vs. Oral N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC -or precursor to glutathione) vs. oral Glutathione vs oral enteric coated Glutathione vs Glutathione patches?

    I just ran across this web site. I’m curious is there is any scientific data re: intracellular glutathione levels? Liver enzyme levels? Any studies comparing these supplements?

    I’ve never heard of the patches, but am curious what the best way to take this to help liver function & thus energy levels – either oral precursors to Glutathione found in whey protein powder, N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC), oral glutathione, oral glutathione that’s been enteric coated (or time released – for release later in the intestinal tract, so as not to be altered or perhaps destroyed by stomach acid) or glutathione patches?

    Also interested in 5-HTP & other ways of increasing serotonin in the gastrointestinal tract (Used to take Zelnorm & felt great on it, until it was taken off the market, so looking for a natural way to do essentially the same thing naturally.

    Also use Milk Thistle for liver protection, which seems to help.

    Thanks for any information/links on scientific studies &/or personal experience with these supplements, differences, etc.

    I think the liver is the key, or part of the key, to CFS or CFIDS, as all these supplements seem to play a part in helping our liver health &/or protecting our liver.

    Anyone try natural antimalarials (e.g. – tonic water, Cinchona bark, etc.) and/or been tested for exposure to Plasmodium falciparum, esp. in the Pacific ocean?

    Dream

    • freesvea says:

      Hi,

      My understanding is that taking oral Glutathione is hugely ineffective. Taking the precursors orally as you mentioned is the way to go orally.

      I have not used the Glutathione patches for a number of years now. You have to drink so much water for them to work, and I’m still struggling with that. If you visit the LifeWave website downt he bottom there is a Research button. I haven’t gone through it all myself. But they do claim that they have done clinical studies showing a 200% increase in Glutathione levels using the patches. If you are keen, I suggested doing your own experiment by testing your glutathione levels before using the patches and then say after 2-4 weeks of patch usage, to see if there is an improvement. The test isn’t all that expensive, i think from memory here in australia it’s around $70.

      The patch technology is based on Acupressure. So the patches themselves do not contain glutathione. Wearing them on certain points on the body stimulated the body’s own production f it. This is my understanding of how they work.

      You spoke a bit about liver support and chronic fatigue. I’ve recently come across the MTHFR gene, which has got to do with folate and methylation. If you have fatigue related and also detox related issues, it is a good idea to test for this gene mutation. You must make sure to test for both 677 and 1298. I have a copy of each of these MTHFR gene mutations which means my body doesn’t convert folic acid into folate, which is a big deal. I need to take folate in the form of L-methylfolate, and also need to take B12 in the form of Methylcobalamin, in order to correct the clitch in my methylation cycle. It’s all very interesting and quite a big deal. I suggest checking out Dr Ben Lynch’s site http://www.mthfr-net.com.

      Hope that helps.

      Svea

    • freesvea says:

      Hi Dream,

      I’m afraid I can’t comment on most of what you wrote. You seem more in the loop than me. I have not been using the patches for several years now. Still have a stack of them in my room. Really should give them another go, but I know they only work if you drink lots of water and I’m pretty bad at doing that.

      I am taking 5-HTP together with Theanine and Taurine, all for depression and anxiety and they seem to work quite well.

      My interest atm is Heavy Metal Chelation, which I have been undertaking for some months now. I had tried so many treatments for CFS, and came across Dr Rashid Buttar, who talks a lot about heavy metals, and felt it made sense to me as that is something that I had not looked into before and it fit with my history and symptoms.

      Found a great doctor in Adelaide, Australia who does heavy metal chelation. His name is Dr Tim Hall. I am currently doing chelation with oral DMSA 250mg every 4hrs, on a 7 days on 7 off schedules. Not only is this supposed to get any Mercury out of my system but it has actually helped improved my fatigue. Have only just started adding in R-LA (Lipoic Acid 50mg) to the DMSA. My doctor follows a similar protocol to Andrew Cutler. Look him up if you’re interested.

      I’ve also been getting regual IV nutrients. 30g Vit C, Magnesium, Zinc, and B complex. That has made a huge difference too,a s my stomach is not great at absorbing nutrients. Have leaky gut etc.

      Sorry I couldn’t be more help.

      Svea

  5. Carolyn says:

    Svea,
    I have recently found that I have one copy of the MTHFR gene mutation. My Doctor suggested the patch. I am very interested in your story. and how you came to use the patch. This is all new to me so any info is greatly appreciated. I was diagnosed with Parkinsons about 7 years ago, I was 41. I have progressively gotten worse every year. In march I just didn’t get my Rx for requip filled and went cold turkey. (I don’t suggest doing that– But I did survive it) Good news I did lose 47 pounds in 3 months not being on that stuff. I was introduce to an Intergrative medicine Doctor and have seen a light of hope in my long tunnel of doubt. I am hoping the bag of supplements I walked out of her office will help with my symptoms. Please give any imput, info or opinions you have. Thanks, Carolyn

    • freesvea says:

      Hi Carolyn,

      Integrative Medicine doctors are the way to go for sure, so you’re on the right track. I haven’t been using the patches for many years now, as I just never drank enough water to know they were working. It’s interesting that your doctor suggested them, and for MTHFR. I think that’s good. All you can do is try it and see if it makes a difference. I have a bunch of patches left, I really should use them again.

      I have a double MTHFR mutation myself, and take Methylfolate and Methylcobalamin for this. Have a look at http://www.mthfr.net. That is Dr Ben Lynch’s site and he knows more about MTHFR than anyone else pretty much. A great resource. Highly recommend the site. It tells you all about why you shouldn’t take folic acid or normal folate and B12 if you have an MTHFR mutation. You have to take the right type. It’s all there.

      My interest atm is Heavy Metal Chelation, which I have been undertaking for some months now. I had tried so many treatments for CFS, and came across Dr Rashid Buttar, who talks a lot about heavy metals, and felt it made sense to me as that is something that I had not looked into before and it fit with my history and symptoms. AS someone with Parkinson’s I would encourage you to do some research to see if there is a link between it and heavy metals.

      I found a great integrative medicine doctor in Adelaide, Australia who does heavy metal chelation. His name is Dr Tim Hall. I am currently doing chelation with oral DMSA 250mg every 4hrs, on a 7 days on 7 off schedules. Not only is this supposed to get any Mercury out of my system but it has actually helped improved my fatigue. Have only just started adding in R-LA (Lipoic Acid 50mg) to the DMSA. My doctor follows a similar protocol to Andrew Cutler. Look him up if you’re interested.

      I’ve also been getting regular IV nutrients. 30g Vit C, Magnesium, Zinc, and B complex. That has made a huge difference too,a s my stomach is not great at absorbing nutrients. Have leaky gut etc.

      Hope some of that helps.

      Svea

Leave a Reply

